

Connecticut

Delaware

District of Columbia

Maine

Maryland

Massachusetts

New Hampshire

New Jersey

New York

Pennsylvania

Rhode Island

Vermont

Virginia

David C. Foerter Executive Director

800 Maine Ave., SW Suite 200 Washington, DC 20024 (202) 318-0190 Email: ozone@otcair.org

OTC Press Release to Announce Action by the Commission on the Maryland CAA 184 (c) Petition

On June 26, 2019, the Ozone Transport Commission (OTC) voted to proceed with the initial steps associated with a Clean Air Act (CAA) Section 184(c) petition submitted by Maryland on May 30, 2019. This action initiates the CAA Section 184(c) process to provide notice and solicit public comment on whether the OTC should develop a recommendation to EPA for additional control measures within part of the Ozone Transport Region (OTR), specifically Pennsylvania, as necessary to bring any area in the OTR into attainment by the dates mandated by the CAA. OTC will be releasing a notice and request for public comment on this issue in the near future. Questions on the upcoming comment period should be directed to the OTC.

OTC is a multi-state organization in the Northeast and Mid-Atlantic, including thirteen states and jurisdictions from northern Virginia to Maine. OTC member jurisdictions are: Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont and Virginia. Established under the Clean Air Act, the OTC is responsible for developing and implementing initiatives to reduce nitrogen oxides and volatile organic compounds (VOCs), the pollutants that form ground-level ozone (smog).

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: The Ozone Transport Commission, 800 Maine Avenue SW, Suite 200, Washington, DC 20024; phone: (202) 318–0190; email: <u>ozone@otcair.org</u>; websitehttp:// www.otcair.org.